Thank you to all attendees of the 8th International Symposium of Auriculotherapy for making this event a success.


We are pleased to announce that the 8th International Symposium of Auriculotherapy will be held, for the first time, in the United States.  The symposium will take place May 8, 9, and 10, 2014 at the Johns Hopkins University Campus located in Rockville, Maryland (outside of Washington, DC.) The 8th International Symposium of Auriculotherapy has historically been held in Lyon, France by the French Lyon Group of Medical Studies (GLEM).  It was started in 1965 by Doctor Paul Nogier (1908-1996), a well-known Lyon physician who concentrated his life’s work on his discovery and creation of auriculotherapy and auriculomedicine.  The current President of GLEM is Dr. Raphael Nogier, who continues to develop the ideas and knowledge of the late Dr. Paul Nogier. At the VIIth International Symposium of Auriculotherapy held in June 2012, members of the Symposium agreed that Dr. Richard C.  Niemtzow, MD, PhD, MPH shall be the President and Organizer of the next Symposium. This is the Symposium you have been waiting for. For those of you with sweaty, shaking hands having never practiced auriclotherapy, we will have a pre-symposium boot camp to hone your clinical skills on May 7, 2014. No more days of tedious lectures while you strain to understand the speaker. Instead, you will experience a 3 day package of practical bread-and-butter clinical expositions guaranteed to get your Qi flowing. On Day 1, world experts will dazzle you with awe-inspiring clinical auriculotherapy updates from around the world; learn which techniques are new and effective and which are now outdated.  Then spend Day 2 and Day 3 with world experts practicing and learning  auriculotherapy in workshops designed for practical performance-oriented action.  When you leave the Symposium you will be eager to use your new skills to help your most challenging patients and to expand your clinical practice with valuable treatment techniques.

Organizing committee for the 2014 Symposium

Richard C. Niemtzow, MD, PhD, MPH, Chairperson

John Howard, L.Ac., Dipl. Ac., Vice-Chairperson

Terry Oleson, PhD, Vice-Chairperson

Steven Aung, MD, Vice-Chairperson

Frank Bahr, MD

Michel Marignan, MD

Raphaël Nogier, MD

Arnyce Pock, MD

Marco Romoli, MD

Im Quah-Smith, MD, PhD